Cervélo R5 Disc | Review | Cycling Weekly

Cervélo R5 Disc | Review | Cycling Weekly

Gorgeously good looking and lightening fast, the Cervélo R5 is a premium performer that’ll have you grinning from ear to ear | Subscribe to Cycling Weekly here: https://www.youtube.com/user/CyclingWeekly1?sub_confirmation=1

Vibrant in green but sleek with its matte black colour, the new Cervélo R5 is a drop dead gorgeous frame. It’s all straight lines and aggressive angles that makes it look like it’s chomping at the bit to ride fast – and ride fast it does.

Our test rides in both the mountains of Northern Italy and the lanes of Southern England convinced us that this was a bike that had it all – race car handling, criterium speed and stiffness as well drop dead gorgeous good looks.

Cervélo’s engineers wanted to great a bike that would make riders really feel the ride and explore how a bike can make a rider feel fast and responsive without being uncomfortable. This they aptly named “the psychology of the ride”, and the frame’s carbon layup allows just enough road resonance through to make the ride feel fast and lively, without being jarring.

Pro rider input
The bike’s geometry chart is really a long list of developments that make it an all round more aggressive beast, the most drastic of which is the drop in the head tube height from the previous model down to 151mm – an adjustment made for the company’s professional riders, according to Cervélo. To put that in perspective, that’s lower than both the Specialized Tarmac and the Pinarello Dogma F10.

That head tube lowering partnered with an updated bottom bracket drop of 72mm and a lengthening of the bike’s wheelbase to 993mm makes for a triple whammy that makes the bike handle – and look – like a race car.

Read more at http://www.cyclingweekly.com/editors-choice/cervelo-r5-2-357065#2g67pWjKCiRYjWPo.99

More at:
Cycling Weekly: http://www.cyclingweekly.co.uk/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/CyclingWeekly
Instagram: https://instagram.com/cyclingweeklymagazine
Google+: https://plus.google.com/103552890268543091591/posts
Twitter: http://twitter.com/cyclingweekly
Email: cycling@timeinc.com

Readers Comments (50)

  1. Sumanth Kashyap April 23, 2021 @ 12:06 am

    When will we see tarmac disc???

  2. So cervelo has saved a few bucks on components that they know people in this category will change out anyways. Big deal.

  3. Great review guys.

  4. Digging that intro music. Basically my mental soundtrack whilst out riding lol. Great vid!

  5. it took you couple of rides to swap the rubbish tyres? what does that tell us?

  6. Simon Assouline April 23, 2021 @ 12:11 am

    China made with Beverly Hills Price!

  7. Murat Ezbiderli April 23, 2021 @ 12:12 am

    Guys, who cares about tires, stems, axles and stuff; tell us more about handling, stiffness, ride feeling. Check out https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LlvP0eqv9Zc for instance, which is focusing on the frame as it should be.

  8. Claude-Etienne Borduas April 23, 2021 @ 12:12 am

    I think the unfortunate thing is that it is now almost standard fare for mainstream manufacturers’ top bikes to cost the price of a small car, whereas just a couple of years ago, this was reserved for halo models. And even at that outrageous price, you get crappy tires and entry level componentry (3rd tier Zipps, base Fizik saddle, really?)… I think the public will have to make a concerted effort to vote with their wallets and oppose this.

  9. What’s the elastomer on the seat post and what does it do?

  10. Problem is that damn bottom bracket. I will never buy a BB that isn’t threaded, or the T47 or the one designed by Colnago.

  11. Saurabh Kulkarni April 23, 2021 @ 12:21 am

    Personally I think bikes should just stop coming with saddles, just as they don’t come with pedals. Your saddle is something even more personal to you than pedals, so why on earth do bikes come with some random "one size fits all" saddle anyway? I’d much rather have that money go towards something else like the tires. Tires should always be top spec on something like this tho

  12. What 2018 bike would you pick over the Cervélo R5 Disc? Let us know in the comment section!

  13. I have managed the impossible, I have sourced one of these Sram red etap disk. Tomorrow is going to be happy New bike day!
    So so so excited but the seat tyres and the chainset will be swapped out as soon as I get home😊

  14. Nice review! This should be the standard!

  15. It’s so annoying that every aero handlebar on the market has zero room for a Garmin mount. Why they can have a slightly wider area near the stem clamp to accommodate a GPS mount

  16. Cutting corners on a bike at 7000 sort it out cervelo

  17. Trek mad one

  18. I have to say that the taller head tube was one of the things I liked about the Cervelo frames. I’d really like an R5, but I’d have to try the new frame before committing. A shame.

  19. Mentioned it was awesome climbing and descending. What about long days in the saddle?

  20. 4:05 you can use a bar fly garmin mount in the front plate of the stem, also it comes with two top caps for the stem so you can use spacers above the stem.

  21. I was enquiring about this exact bike they are like gold dust.. Evans cannot source them at all, wheelbase said they "might" be able to get hold of o e sometime in 2019!!! A BIKE shop in Hull said they might be able to get hold of a frame in a month.. I can’t find anyone that has actually got any of these in stock.
    No one will tell me but have these been secretly recalled for some reason? I do not believe that Cervelo have sold all their stock and that is it.

  22. What I find laughable about cervelo (and this is coming from someone who owns both current s5 and the previous gen r5) is their pricing of frame vs whole bike. I can EASILY build the whole bike they sell for $9000 well below that price if I just buy a frame and seatpost from them. I could even spec it out with extralite stem and an exotic level full carbon saddle and still end up way below the $9000 they charge for the full bike. I guess they bank on the fact that most people don’t build their own bikes? Anyway. This is why I never pay cervelo. I just find a MINT used frame a year later and build my own bike to my spec and end up with "super bike" that costs $3000+ less than what Cervelo asks. I love the brand and the bikes but their prices are shameful and not worth it.

  23. The 2018 bike I’d pick above the R5 disc is the R5 rim brake…

  24. What’s the weight?

  25. How about a direct comparison of the R5 and R3 with similar equipment and wheels. Nobody does these and it’s the most obvious choice readers face when shopping.

  26. CycleFor GreaterGood April 23, 2021 @ 12:39 am

    It’s not the arrow, it’s the Indian.

  27. What’s the weight?

  28. I’d change wheels/tyres for 28mms and probably the seat. Comparo with BMC Road machine disc.

  29. Ricardo Ruiz de Gamboa April 23, 2021 @ 12:43 am

    Time to review the Factor O2 disc !

  30. More reviews like this. Good job

  31. Scott Addict Premium Di2 Disc review would be great to see, comes with everything the Cervelo doesn’t and is an absolute ripper of a bike. Grin from ear to ear every pedal stroke. If you get a chance ride one then you will be wanting to purchase one.

  32. Efren Rodriguez April 23, 2021 @ 12:47 am

    White stem ???????? Please…

  33. Matthew Holberton April 23, 2021 @ 12:49 am

    Guys, great review! The bike is a joy to ride and handles insanely well. Agree with all your comments regarding the frame.
    Have a few issues though:
    The RAT system is fast! You have you push it right in and then turn it.
    Why would anyone want to put spacers above the stem? If you need spacers you can put them below. The stem looks really nice, especially when slammed.
    Most manufacturers skimp out on tyres, no biggie, but it should have come with 28s.
    The bottom bracket is the real problem, you didn’t mention this. It’s a cheap BBB one and has to be swapped out immediately to a high end bottom bracket like C Bear or Ceramic Speed.
    I can understand why Cervelo would put a cheap saddle on the bike because most people would swap it anyway.
    The stem is designed for a Barfly mount so use it. They look really good, no need for an ugly one that clamps to the bars.
    The wheels on this model are good but the Dura Ace version comes with old Enve rims paired with cheap Formula hubs that are just awful.

  34. Juan Pablo Uribe April 23, 2021 @ 12:50 am

    I agree about the rapid axle (specially if you try to set it onto your Kickr) IMPOSSIBLE!, stem and the cockpit (Garmin). those are the "cons" of this bike despite it’s superb. I had a Canyon Ultimate and I found this one more rigid, specially on bad terrains which makes less smooth the ride (I’ll try grand-prix tires). Another difference I’ve notice is in my cycling dynamics (TE & PS) my actual numbers are lower than my previews ones. (73%-21% Vs 85%-25%). *Could be due to a lower endurance?

  35. Tanglegripper #1 Hair Detangler April 23, 2021 @ 12:51 am

    most comfortable ride I’ve ever had on a bike…

  36. Maybe the BMC SLR01 Disc deserves a review?

  37. “The lengthen it for more stability at speed” did they actually for that reason though? Did they make the front longer or did they make the chain stays longer because they had to for disc brakes?

  38. The seat rake is huge, what is the seat angle set at?

  39. I bought one last week and I friken love it! Slapped some zipp 404 tubulars on it. Came with durace di2! So nice and crispy when shifting.

  40. Is that guy’s hair CGI?

  41. I believe this is a serious contender aside from the saddle and tires (and stem) because chances are going to change…maybe tires not so much, but if you’re going to get fitted, you’re going to have already sorted out your saddle and the fit will decide the stem, and its not likely to be the one that came with the bike. Tires, the average person is like going to fine tune their tire choice around what they ride. All-in-all 4000s are better all around though.

    If I were buying this, I would look at if I could convert those Zipps to tubeless and minimally 28s. If not, I would build from the frameset up in an "all-road" setup with 28s or 30s with tubeless, and diversify the my riding in this light confident geometry.

    The problem for me would start with the fact that the Specialized Tarmac Disc frameset comes in less expensive, and the complete bike has tubeless ready wheels along with similar or slightly more clearance. In the end, I still prefer the design and engineering of Cervelo bikes and I also believe they use better carbon with a better dampening characteristic which in the long term isn’t a value on paper, but a value in ownership. Then again, most of this might not be at all important to the road racer this bike was aimed for, and in all reality something like the C Series or Open UPPER or 3T Strata would be a better option for my focus, but there are drawback to those setups especially if you’re going to do competitive racing or fast group rides on the same bike.

  42. AUD$13,000….for that money I would expect any bike to be perfect, with no negatives, for the average rider.

  43. Benjamin Elkins-Green April 23, 2021 @ 12:54 am

    RAT question… How can you use it on a turbo trainer??

  44. Also, perhaps less moaning about the components; the bare frame can be bought and built how you like.

  45. Is it me or does the head tube look very tall?

  46. I can’t get past the white stem and budget tyres!

  47. Okay, I’ll take a crack at describing it: Stealth frame and forks, lime graphics, white stem.

  48. Ian Batchelor-Williams April 23, 2021 @ 1:02 am

    2018 S5 review…… pretty please

  49. @cyclingweekly So, new R5 frameset or New Tarmac frameset???

  50. R3 review please

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


*