Electric Bike Company Model R Review – $2.2k

Electric Bike Company Model R Review – $2.2k

https://electricbikereview.com/electric-bike-company/model-r/ The Electric Bike Company Model R is a sturdy, powerful, step-thru cruiser electric bike with 26″ or 24″ wheels and stable plus sized tires. Assembled and customized in America, great customer service and an industry leading five year comprehensive warranty! Ships fully assembled, 100% ready to ride on day one. Extra emphasis on charger and battery quality, expandable capacity from 556 to 1440 watt hours. Comes standard with bright integrated lights (two 6-LED lights on the rear!) and reflective puncture-resistant tires that improve visibility and safety. Optional rear rack and front basket add utility, plastic mudguard fenders can be paint matched. Powerful 180mm hydraulic disc brakes with thick 2.3mm rotors, quad piston calipers, and large adjustable-reach levers with motor inhibitors help to manage the higher possible speeds and heavier build. Highly adjustable drive modes offer Class 1, 2, or 3 operation (pedal assist, throttle, and 28mph options). The variable speed trigger throttle is easy to use and the sealed 12-magnet cadence sensor performs consistently. Extra large saddle, long steel handlebar, adjustable spring suspension fork, and high-volume tires provide maximize comfort, but EBC also sells an optional seat post suspension for further comfort. The Model R is $500 more expensive than the X and Y, but has a hidden downtube-integrated main battery. It offers higher peak motor output at 1,250 watts and has a higher weight capacity at 380lbs vs. 360lbs. Frame only comes in one size and I’d call it Small-Medium because I couldn’t get full leg extension with 31″ inseam. Shipping, 7-speed drivetrain, custom paint, racks, alarm system, and other extras all cost extra and shipping is $189.

0:00 Introduction
4:02 Brake details
4:29 Motor details
5:57 Geometry & sizing
8:24 Lights discussion
9:27 Color customization
10:14 Rear rack and panniers
12:53 Battery removal & details
14:50 Drivetrain details
15:45 Battery charger
16:29 Rear rack options
17:27 Display settings menu
18:25 Display walkthrough
19:23 Lights demonstration
21:06 Ride test begins
22:25 Fender options
23:10 Optional alarm system
24:53 Drivetrain ride shots
27:23 Conclusion

Readers Comments (38)

  1. I need your help!! I need the right bike for my situation in South America. And how do you get the batteries down here!!??

  2. I love the frame, and the 26 x 3鈥檚 with On road tires makes it a great commuter option. I have never ridden a bike from this company, but I have Ordered parts from this company for other E bike builds and the parts were of a very high-quality. Thank you for the video

  3. California Cruiser

  4. Nice review. These both seems like low step girls bikes. That cup holder is hideous. The Model Y would be good for the PeeWee Herman look 馃槢

  5. 馃憤馃徎馃憤馃徎馃憤馃徎馃憤馃徎馃憤馃徎馃憤馃徎馃憤馃徎 it !

  6. Bicycle looks nice!

  7. Nice report, THANKS! FYI, you complained about the display brightness, but your demonstration was set to level 3 brightness, and it has options up to 5. The price is an issue, and physical size as you mentioned. With a basket, rack and 7 speed options, it’s over $3000! I can almost get a full suspension Hiabike with mid-board motor and torque sensors for that much money. These bikes are about $600 too much IMHO, otherwise I would like them if the frame was a normal size.

  8. Mathis Bourcier March 11, 2021 @ 10:17 pm

    On the other hand, for commuting, suspension forks are a pain. They require too much maintenance. As an ebike delivery guy I strongly recommend going rigid.

  9. FastFriday'sFacts March 11, 2021 @ 10:23 pm

    The MXUS motor with a 26 amp controller has 125 nm of power with a 48v battery. Do they have a 52v battery? if they did it would put out around 140 nm with a 26 amp controller.

  10. Not bad!!馃槑馃憡馃憣馃憤馃挴!! YesSiRr!!

  11. I suspect that this guy does not own a doghouse.

  12. It’s only a ladies bike if a lady is riding it, otherwise it’s a step-thru’ O’ silly twits

  13. Mathis Bourcier March 11, 2021 @ 10:29 pm

    let me emphasize this, the extra weight of bigger tires is well worth it. I used to ride on 700×32 and oh man when I switched to 27.5×2.25 did it change my life.

  14. 鞝勱赴鞛愳爠瓯办棸甑唽 ELECTRIC BIKE TV March 11, 2021 @ 10:29 pm

    It looks convenient. I want the girls to ride.

  15. Love this bike !

  16. I purchased this bike with dual battery setup. I absolutely love it! EBC is really great company with excellent customer service.

  17. DON’T LET THESE AMATURES BUILD YOUR BIKE, YOU WILL REGRET IT AND CAN BE SERIOUSLY HURT. I am a Shimano TEC, and have worked in bike shops selling and repairing bikes for over seven years. I also own and maintain my own two 1000cc Superbikes. These people delivered to my 60+ year old mother a "built" bike. I went over to check it and first thing I did was to bounce the front suspension and the handlebar rotated down with little effort. The clamp was not equal and the torque was a joke. Then I twist the stem against the front wheel, it rotates with two fingers of force, and no grease on the stem. Pulled the seat tube, no grease. Pulled the pedals, no grease. I could rotate the brake levers with two fingers, uneven clamp force. The rear wheel had not been removed to tension the chain (single speed), check the hub cones and properly torqued to the frame (they trust china). The front wheel didnt have the cones tuned either. The disc brakes hadn’t been bedded in for her, and they did not tell her that they needed to be for proper bite and stopping power. That’s just the mechanical failures that I found in 5 minutes in her living room. They sold her a bike that was set up 6" too tall for her, she couldn’t mount it safely or touch the ground. (She hasn’t been on a bike in along time and needs to be able to touch both sides for safety, especially since this is a heavy and fast bike.) They didn’t even set it to fit her when they dropped it off, horrible practice for a bike shop, fit is everything. If they can’t fit bikes they shouldn’t sell bikes. They just made a sale and sent her out the door to crash on a bike that is too big, and put together worse than most walmart bikes I have seen. These people are clowns and deserve to be sued for putting unknowing people that trust them at great risk. These bikes should be held at higher mechanical scrutiny than normal since they are powered like motorcycles and old people are buying them. If she insists to get another bike from them, (she is returning it on my professional recommendation) I will be building it and not let these careless know-nothings touch it. I will also be convincing her to buy elsewhere. I’m so glad she didn’t ride it before I checked it out. She would have crashed due to negligence by Electric Bike Company, I’m 100% sure. Please, please have a seasoned professional mechanic build any bike you ride, your life depends on it. Do not buy from this careless company.

  18. sorry dude, but you either have to gain about 50 pounds or carry a passenger. Otherwise these reveiws apply to women only as far as judging the power of the bike.

  19. Orlando Streets March 11, 2021 @ 10:34 pm

    You’re an excellent reviewer. I grew up in Newport Beach and this bike IMHO is designed for beach boardwalk riding, not for offroad. JMO. Also, the $2,200 price tag is lunch money for NB residents.

  20. Gary Fujioka Sr. March 11, 2021 @ 10:35 pm

    My brethren of western civilization. It’s time we disabuse ourselves of the long extinct concept of the "girl’s bike" or the notion that low-step frames are for "ladies". Advances in materials compositions and engineering have made the cross tube dispensable. Manufacturers eager to shed the weight are shipping genderless, unisex ebikes across the world, where studies consistently show they are safer, with significantly fewer accidents per aggregate mile traveled. Hey bros, thanks for coming to my TED Talk.

  21. Hi锛孫ur company has free MTB accessories, such as pedals, gloves,etc,if you are interested in them, could you help us test them and give us feedback, thank you

  22. Wow it鈥檚 got a mini garbage can let鈥檚 see if they catch on 馃nice review dude 馃憤馃徎

  23. I’d call that seat the "Nut Cracker"

  24. This guy always give me way more information then I am looking for…

  25. Francois Lepine March 11, 2021 @ 10:44 pm

    you have to wonder about the throttle is ONLY available in PAS 0…..makes no sense at all.
    I’m seventy years old, I own two electric bikes. Talk to any five year old and they will tell you that the hardest thing about riding a bike is getting it going from a stop! I NEVER pedal from a dead stop…it’s throttle on and then start pedaling when I get some forward momentum going.
    That system would be a deal breaker for me…but I really like those 26×3 tires. Nice choice.

  26. Sorry , if it looks like a ladies bike it is a ladies bike 馃檪

  27. from a business and personal standpoint.. I would have gradual throttle assist to conserve battery & improve rider experience with longer rides. Personally I think it’s a good way also to keep riders active getting more health benefits of riding a bicycle. not a negative point imo at all!馃槤馃槍馃憣

  28. Lovely bike. If it had front motor and hub gears, I would be happy. I can see in your video there is a centre stand mounting. Girl’s bike? The Honda 50 sold 30 million at least. Nobody called that a girl’s bike. I think some blokes must have some sort of complex!

  29. Here’s a list that helped me out.
    "whinyl.com/elctrb-guide/
    In the end, I went with #1.

    1:02

  30. I am in the final selection stage of my e-bike purchase. I am 61 y/o so for my overall comfort and longterm enjoyment I believe I need a Class 2 step thru frame with at least partial suspension. I strongly prefer a thumb throttle, at least a 500 w peddle assist motor and I would like to cap my search at $3,000.00. I don’t believe I will be doing any serious off road riding, but that "off road" look is pretty nice and I wouldn’t mind having that option…not a need though. From the videos I have viewed I am leaning towards the Electric Bike Model R and the RadRover 1 or 3, but wanted to ask you if you have any thoughts on these choices, with my needs in mind, or if you feel there are other brands and/or models I should consider.

  31. At 66 years old, I ain鈥檛 swinging my leg over the seat or a basket mounted on the back of the bike. Give me the step thru every time! At 380 pound of support capacity, you can put a beefy chick on this bike. Wide handle bars, 1250 max motor and all that power on the thumb throttle, turn me lose! Time to start cursing with those 3 inch fat tires and that smooth looking suspension fork!

  32. I really enjoy your reviews. I would like to hear your thoughts on the Rize RX. It is a mid motor model with a thousand watt bafang motor and large battery. It looks like good value compared to other mid motor bikes.

  33. will you do something like a "top 2020 e-bikes" video by the end of this year?

  34. Nice bike but dude you talk to much!

  35. Steven Vidaurri March 11, 2021 @ 11:05 pm

    Strange that they’re not marketing it as a cruiser with those handle bars. If I wanted something like a trail commuter the Aventon Level seems like a better choice.

  36. Noice!

  37. "It’s an interesting bike"= he hated it.

  38. See yah 馃榾馃憤

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


*