Giant LaFree E+ 2 Review – $2k

Giant LaFree E+ 2 Review – $2k

https://electricbikereview.com/giant/lafree-e-plus-2/ The Giant LaFree E+ 2 is an approachable and simple urban electric bike complete with fenders, a rear rack, and quality components. Available in three sizes and two colors with a high range of adjustability, balloon tires and an oversized saddle add up to a comfortable ride. Giant SyncDrive Life mid-drive motor, Shimano Altus 8 speed shifting system, Tektro hydraulic disc brakes in the front and rear. No bottle cage bosses or integrated lights, and the front fender has a mounting nut in toe-strike range for riders with large feet. EBR was paid to perform this review #Sponsored We try to be honest, thorough, and fun! Comparison tools, shop directory, and forums at: ElectricBikeReview.com

Readers Comments (29)

  1. Super excited to see a review finally on the Giant lafree! I’ve owned this bike since July and ride it almost everyday, it’s so much fun and sturdy. Two issues I saw in the video is you can charge the battery underneath the battery just pull back that rubber flap and second to set up automatic mode you actually press the power modes down until you get one single light in the middle. Thanks again for doing the review on the Lafree!!

  2. Enjoyed the review and what a quiet motor Giant developed with Yamaha. The cruise control on this bike is impressive.

  3. Almost bought this, but because the wife carries fully loaded panniers the combined rear end weight bias (because of the battery location) is untenable. Plenty of room between the step-through tubes Giant. Just saying.

  4. Love seeing a bike shop I grew up with.

  5. Therapy for Monsters May 22, 2021 @ 1:27 am

    Wrong about the battery not being able to be charged off the bike. Wrong about how to get into auto mode. Didn’t know what all the sensor were or what they did. Absolutely ridiculous argument against an integrated light. A led light would use maybe 5 watts per hour. The battery is 400 watts!

  6. I have a Giant Suede E electric bike that I bought new about 15 years or so ago. Cost me $1200 at the time. It was a big, heavy cruiser type bike. 5000 miles and a a few years later, it fell apart. The battery failed. The controller failed. The bottom bracket fell apart. The teeth on the crank were so worn down it looked more like a saw blade. lol And guess what? Giant had discontinued the bike and there were no spare parts to be had. I think the front wheel motor is still good, but I have no idea how to wire it up and I can’t find any info. Anyway, it’s still out in the garage, in pieces. The big heavy frame is still in great shape. Someday I’ll fix it back up into just a peddle cruiser. Or if I can figure out the wiring on the motor, maybe I’ll buy a new controller and battery and it’ll be an ebike again. 馃檪

  7. Kirby Nichols May 22, 2021 @ 1:29 am

    Great review! Could have done without the comments from the shop owner about how dumb the "lady consumers" are about how to shift…

  8. Jamie Paterson May 22, 2021 @ 1:30 am

    Regarding battery charging off the bike, reviewer is incorrect, there is a charge port on the bottom of the battery covered by a plastic cap. you can see it under the label on the bottom of the battery when they remove it.

  9. Dude, that paint job tho!! Noice

  10. My wife and i bought this bike, we love it… I don鈥檛 understand the 2 down 1 up comment…enlighten me please!

  11. Well I have the Lafree E+1…not sure if same battery…but mine is rechargeable off the bike. The charging port is under the battery and has a rubber cover on it similar to the cover on the front of battery set up.

  12. I like your reviews. So much to see on the market now and the US seems to have less companies than eu. So we need you to review more馃憤

  13. Please review the E+ 1 and more belt drive ebikes.

  14. metamorphicorder May 22, 2021 @ 1:43 am

    New guy did a great job.
    Mike is good but this guy is much smoother and practiced in the delivery.
    This bike needs a throttle. I get why it doesnt have one but… throttle. Hopefully it has circuitry for one.
    Pretty good deal for a bike like this.

  15. Another new guy, glad to see EBR expanding. Looking forward to more videos!

  16. This convinced me to get a 2019 model. Very excited. Thanks so much for the nudge I needed! First time e-bike buyer too.

  17. Khaldoun Samman May 22, 2021 @ 1:46 am

    wait, you can’t take the battery into the house to charge and keep out of the heat?

  18. on the trail again May 22, 2021 @ 1:49 am

    Would love to see a video review of the LaFree + 1 . No one talks about them as much as the LaFree + 2

  19. Just got this bike 馃毑 and am impressed
    Am a petite woman 5ft and only rode mountain bikes before. It鈥檚 about 2k and I believe well worthy especially in hilly cities.

  20. Good video. I ride a Giant non-electric bike to work daily for the past 3 years. Giant bicycles are very well made. They’re the Toyotas of bicycles.

  21. Great Bike can’t fault it, that good bought 2 of them.

  22. I can see why the rear rack battery might save some money, but I don鈥檛 really get why they put a derailleur on this. I鈥檇 put a full chain case and nexus hub on it. Would be so much more practical for daily use then.

  23. Just bought this bike a week ago (my local bike shop was selling their rentals). Glad to see a good detailed review of it.

  24. ElectricBikeReview.com May 22, 2021 @ 1:57 am

    Hey guys! Some of you commented and let us know that it is possible to charge this battery while it is removed from the bike, as there is another charging port on the underside that is hidden behind a rubber flap. Thank you for catching that, we have updated the video description and the written review accordingly.

  25. I wish the owner of the shop would hush. He paid for a professional review but he keeps injecting his sales bs.

  26. what happened to the guy who used to be on this channel ???

  27. You don’t get auto mode by doing what the guy in the video did, all that did was turn power to the non-existant headlight on (you can add an aftermarket 6v light to that on the wiring harness). To get to auto mode, you need to scroll the power settings down below off then the center LED in the power indicator bank comes on by itself.

  28. That control panel reminds me of something a $500 Ancheer would have.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


*