Giant's $1,800 Stance 1 Review: More Traditional Than Trendy | 2020 Pinkbike Field Trip

Giant's $1,800 Stance 1 Review: More Traditional Than Trendy | 2020 Pinkbike Field Trip

The Giant Stance’s price and parts look attractive on paper, but out on the trail… Read the full review: https://pinkbike.link/stance1

More from the 2020 Pinkbike Field Trip: https://pinkbike.link/2020pbfieldtrip

Presented by:

Smith – https://smithoptics.com
7mesh – https://7mesh.com/

Special thanks to Over The Edge Sedona – https://otesports.com/locations/sedona/

Additional footage by Lear Miller – https://instagram.com/learmiller

Pinkbike Merch – https://pinkbike.link/merch

Subscribe for more content from the pulse of mountain biking.

Website – https://pinkbike.com
Facebook – https://facebook.com/pinkbikecom
Instagram – https://instagram.com/pinkbike
Youtube – https://youtube.com/pinkbike

Readers Comments (50)

  1. I use one finger with those brakes. I just upgraded the rotor sizes to 203f/180r.

  2. Kinda glad to see you guys bash on this bike – cause I got the Stance 2 and was kicking myself that after extra accessories I could’ve had the 1. The only real benefit would’ve been the suspension upgrade over my S2.

    The brakes really do suck. I had my rear disc heat up on a moderate-fast downhill last week and fail to grab, which sent me careening out of control down a steep trail and almost hitting a tree to stop! I finally came to rest after bouncing over some dead logs and washing out, but not without messing up my knee pretty good.

  3. PinchPeak5203 May 27, 2021 @ 1:20 am

    Just pay a bit more and get a trance that has way better literally everything

  4. You guys are fucking goofs this bike id awesome as it should for 1800 anything more were talking negligible difference for extraordinary cost so fuck off

  5. Francesco Costantini May 27, 2021 @ 1:21 am

    i have thats bike. its so good. climbi well and descen so good. i ride it ibikeparks. only brakes could be bad on long descend

  6. "it has a quick release, what can you upgrade?"

    Ever heard of DT Swiss RWS 10mm thru-bolt? It slots right into QR dropouts and 99% of riders won’t overcome it’s rigidity. Yeah, you need a rear hub with swappable endcaps (I9, DT Swiss, Hope, Chris King, Hadley, …).

    The axle is meant for 135mm dropouts but fits well into 141mm QR dropouts as well with almost all the 18mm wide nut threaded on.

  7. Charles Palmer May 27, 2021 @ 1:23 am

    Good news saw a 2021 and no more quick release….

  8. Wtf! You’re comparing it with 10k bikes?

  9. I’m just an ordinary rider, I’ve had one for 5 years, I honestly don’t know any better.
    Bottom line: I love my bike!

  10. Hell, I rock a 2019 Giant Stance 1.
    Sucker jams like a monster truck too me out here in Az, over the terrain no problem for a 31lbs bike!
    67deg head tube Angle..
    74deg Seat tube Angle..
    -Its all about preference to your need and functionality.
    At 46 may Maybe I’m old🤪😁

  11. The SX drove train sucks, I wouldn’t get anything less than GX

  12. What is the 1400 labossnot??

  13. A day with Mil May 27, 2021 @ 1:27 am

    I use the giant stance for downhills, cross country, leisure, trails, uphill climb, and travel. Could I say more 👍😀💪

  14. I downhill over rock gardens on an upgraded walmart bike spent a total of 700 on it 70 mm rear travel 120 mm boost front fork shreds nicely never had any issues

  15. Jaime De Loza May 27, 2021 @ 1:31 am

    Too Expensive for the low cost equipment…

  16. In my opinion an entry level bike is a standard hardtail, $1,800 is lots of money for a new comer

  17. Me watching this video with my $700 hard tail and them talking about how a rock shox recon front fork isn’t good😳

  18. beware Giant warranty SUCKS

  19. ARIZONA REPRESENT

  20. Can someone clarify on the brakes. Are they good or bad brakes?

  21. daniel mclaughlin May 27, 2021 @ 1:41 am

    tubeless upgrade, 2.6 DHF tire, lock on grips-ripping bike

  22. Bojan Saksida May 27, 2021 @ 1:42 am

    The Stance is an XC bike from GIANT….if you want a trail bike you have to go to the Trance

  23. Sooraj thakur May 27, 2021 @ 1:42 am

    For you it’s a slow bike and for me it’s a dream bike…..

  24. Hey guys, i have a question, i’m waiting on my Trance to arrive, should be here any day, I know its old geometry so i was hoping to change that, what i would like to know is what do you guys think of those Headset Bearing Kits to increase the Head tube Slack? I’ve been checking out a set, it’s the Cane Creek Angleset, this particular set i’m eyeing increases the slack 2 degrees, I was thinking of having it installed and increase the Slack from 67 degrees to 65. What do you guys think?

  25. I couldn’t quite catch the name of the bike he recommended as a better option at 5:30 anyone knows which bike he was referring to? I’m new to mountain biking and I’m looking for an affordable full-suspension bike around this price bracket. thanks!

  26. You guys makes me feel bad buying this bike.

  27. Anyone owns a Stance 2 2020? I’m gonna buy one and want to see how it is

  28. Leonardo Mulattieri May 27, 2021 @ 1:53 am

    It’s a good or bad Nike?

  29. You guys should definitley look at the polygon sisikiu
    t7 or the t8

  30. The Freedom Addiction May 27, 2021 @ 1:53 am

    semi pro riders bagging a starter bike. complety over riding it at a much harder rate than a starter. thats all i see from these guys

  31. Levy: This bike doesnt feel connected front to back on the descents, has really out dated geometry
    Levy: I posted my fastest time descending on this bike

  32. Right now i ride a nishiki crap bike sooooo this looks extremely nice

  33. They put 2 guys that rides on 15,000 bikes. Of course they are not going to like this bike.

  34. Great review. I am actually interested in this bike as a returning Mountain biker doing more difficult but not challenging trails.

  35. JimmyJamesonJnr May 27, 2021 @ 2:01 am

    Giant process 111

  36. Jim Williamson May 27, 2021 @ 2:02 am

    Just sold my 2019 stance, it was a good bike for sure. Only thing that broke in over a year of hard trails was the chain,

  37. I love when you guys review budget bikes. I have the stumpy st alloy 27.5 and love it!

  38. got a stance back in 2018 and rode it up until last month it was amazing

  39. EpicEpicYeet Bros May 27, 2021 @ 2:05 am

    I mean that’s what you get for a mountain bike under $2,000 lol.

  40. Ryan hector Sepulveda May 27, 2021 @ 2:09 am

    Waigth plss 13kgs or 14kgs?

  41. The one guy sounds like a stuck up douche bag who’s God’s gift to the bike world. The only thing I got from the vid is you gotta spend $10k on a bike to feel good about getting one.

  42. Overall 2nd… kind of makes all that talk sound like nonsense. If it’s so bad then why is it so fast? Not modern enough or not trendy enough?

  43. lesley lesley May 27, 2021 @ 2:11 am

    giant stance or calibre tripple b?

  44. So strange. In a couple of another low cost fullys, this one won every time..

  45. So… This vs the glory? Is this a true downhill bike? Not sure what I should be looking for… 😐

  46. Can you do a review on the Silverback Stratos AL 3

  47. Try the stance 2!

  48. Diego Villacrez May 27, 2021 @ 2:15 am

    I appreciate that they used the word affordable and not cheap/budget

  49. You make some fair points with this bike. The brakes should be better. I have one, like me the bikes is some what of a old design . So it suits me down to ground. I’ll be getting a old farts ebike on my next bike anyway, or ebike conversation kit for it. But this is a fast and fun bike to ride.

  50. Adrián Pérez Fernández May 27, 2021 @ 2:16 am

    Do a review of the 2021 stance 1 29er

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


*