Rohloff E-14 Review – Electronically Shifted Internally Geared Hub, Bosch Ebike Compatible

Rohloff E-14 Review – Electronically Shifted Internally Geared Hub, Bosch Ebike Compatible

https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/rohloff-e-14-electronic-internally-geared-hub-overview.25532/ The Rohloff Speedhub E-14 is one of the highest quality internally geared hub systems for bicycles and electric bikes. It’s electronically shifted for high precision and integrates with Bosch ebike systems for shift detection, to reduce wear and stress. The E-14 offers fourteen gear choices and a range of 526° of gearing range. This makes it a great choice for climbing and high speed applications alike. Much like the SRAM Eagle 500° cassette (with 10 to 50 tooth sprockets) the Speedhub is a great choice for mountain bikes and urban speed pedelecs alike. It’s durable, with reports of over 200,000 miles of use, only requiring occasional oil changes. There is no external derailleur, so the gears and shifting mechanisms are very well protected. It does weigh a bit more than a cassette and derailleur at roughly 3.75lbs (between 1,700 and 1,800 grams depending on the model chosen). Rohloff offers a wide range of hub spacing options from 135mm, 142mm, Boost 148mm, Fat Bike 170mm, Fat Bike 177mm, 190mm, and 197mm as well as 9mm axle and M12 12mm thru-axle support. It can be shifted at standstill, as with most internally geared hubs and continuously variable transmissions like Enviolo/NuVinci and even has an automatic downshift feature that can return to a set gear when the bike is stopped. This makes starting from standstill efficient.

Pros:
– Extremely durable, low maintenance and longer maintenance intervals compared to a derailleur and chain
– Shift detection support when paired with Bosch
– Electronic readout of chosen gear
– Automatic downshift on stop with gear choice
– Allows for shifting at standstill
– Compatible with Gates Carbon belt drives
– Many hub spacing and axle size options
– In really dirty conditions, a belt drive might not be ideal… so it’s cool that the E-14 is also compatible with chains

Cons:
– Adds roughly $1,000 USD to the price of most bikes
– Adds weight, compared to a traditional cassette + derailleur but still weighs less than the NuVinci N380 or N360 which are roughly 2450 grams (5.4lbs)
– Even at 180 milliseconds, it shifts slower than a derailleur

Other details: Synchronized shift process via CANBus connectivity, can shift gears singularly or push and hold button to shift 3 gears simultaneously (following the initial
single gear shift), automatically return to pre-programmed start gear once stationary, designed to endure up to 130 newton meters of torque force (Bosch Performance Line CX motor peaks out at 75nm for reference), it’s compatible with the Bosch Active Line, Active Line Plus, Performance Line, and Performance Line CX ebike motors, they do not currently sell a retrofit kit… it’s only sold with new electric bicycles, manufacturers using the E-14 include: Heisenberg, i:SY, Koga, Nicolai, Maxcycles, Riese & Müller, TDS Velos, Velo de Ville, it is not compatible with non-electric bicycles, I believe that the E-14 was launched in late 2017 for use on 2018 model year electric bikes such as the Nevo GX Rohloff in the video review. EBR was paid to perform this review #Sponsored We try to be honest, thorough, and fun! Comparison tools, shop directory, and forums at: ElectricBikeReview.com

Readers Comments (50)

  1. Your Google Meister May 7, 2021 @ 12:42 am

    Hey lookie here! It’s the incel bike hour!

  2. Renard Thatch May 7, 2021 @ 12:43 am

    Me: This is nice. Me after googling Rohloff prices: "I’d rather buy a motorcycle."

  3. мужики это ахренительно и дорого тоже

  4. Gentjan Hasani May 7, 2021 @ 12:50 am

    Why are you wearing the helmet all the time?

  5. Stephen Donohoe May 7, 2021 @ 12:51 am

    Hello guys, love your channel very informative, my favourite are geared rear hub bikes but have trouble finding your reviews on these type of bike , could you make a list on your channel for this, as i think this is the direction of the industry , thank you guys

  6. Great video guys 👍👍👍 I really appreciate all of the in depth content that you two bring to all things ebike, it all much appreciated, thank you.

  7. Will it still function when the battery is empty?

  8. Benedykt Kotertzky May 7, 2021 @ 12:52 am

    Shame on Haibike , Specialized ,Shimano and others they are 2 years behind this gearbox

  9. frank haigler May 7, 2021 @ 12:54 am

    When do you suggest a full suspension over an hardtail (e.g. Nevo vs Homage) ? Both equipped with Rohloff Speedhub.

  10. LUDOVIC MALCOVICH May 7, 2021 @ 12:56 am

    shimano just entered the room with mid install gearboxes, thing is these can be fitted to just about any bike, the new shimano needs special frames, but shimano have the clout for bike manufacturers to make them frames, personally this is best, easy fit and electronic shift

  11. This one work for Bosch Drive Unit Performance CX Generation 4 (85Nm) Cruise?

  12. Could this handle the abuse of e-mountain biking?

  13. Jamie Paterson May 7, 2021 @ 12:58 am

    I have a 2017 Cube Touring Pro Hybrid with a Bosch Performance Line CX Motor. I have been having issues with my Altus derailleur system and am considering upgrading to this. Any thoughts/suggestions/redirections?

  14. Md.Moinul Islam May 7, 2021 @ 1:03 am

    MASHAALLAH khub valo video

  15. Your Google Meister May 7, 2021 @ 1:04 am

    Hey lookie here! It’s the incel bike hour!

  16. Dawadah Ephraim Yasharahla May 7, 2021 @ 1:05 am

    Hi. Do either yourself or Chris know if the R&M with Bosch mtr plan on creating an automatically shifting hub? Not JUST automatically downshifting but completely based on cadence shifting.

  17. Damn thing cost as much as a good used car.

  18. Boots on the Ground UK May 7, 2021 @ 1:06 am

    Would it work on Haibike all mtn 7 yamaha cx2 motor?

  19. Pinion needs a e-shifter too.

  20. Matthew johnson May 7, 2021 @ 1:10 am

    What the heck to you do if your Rohloff gears stop working properly? The average bike shop obviously can’t service it.

  21. james arundel May 7, 2021 @ 1:10 am

    Can they take off road .. or do they fall to bits ?

  22. Great technology. Thx for the review. Will certainly consider it when I purchase in the future.

  23. Alexey Yurkevich May 7, 2021 @ 1:12 am

    can they be installed on regular bikes?

  24. future bike

  25. I hate to call this a scam as it’s simply nowhere for sale. Rohloff are good at pretending to have arrived in the 21st century by showing imaginary Speedhubs for contemporary standards ("B" for Boost aka 12/148 axle my ass) which, at least here in Germany, are nowhere to be found for sale. Neither wheels nor naked hubs. They should leave their ivory tower and team up with a real manufacturer imo. Time to get them into mass production for modern MTBs and in the hands of enthusiasts who are not willing to give up on building and fuckin’ customizing their own damn bikes and ebikes. A real shame because it’s such an awesome hub :/

  26. ….and smile! Did someone piss on his chips?

  27. straight2curveus May 7, 2021 @ 1:15 am

    The cool part about my bbshd with rohloff is that I can shift 4 to 5 gears at one time with grip shift. Just because it shifts electric doesn’t make it better plus with manual shifting you can feel the hub engage before you add power that is gone with electric shifting.

  28. Victor Pluntky May 7, 2021 @ 1:17 am

    That hub has been the top of the line unchanged for so many years now.

  29. Scott Carlon May 7, 2021 @ 1:17 am

    I thought the rolof transmission and gates belt setup would be way quieter than the traditional setup and I diden’t hear them talk about the weight of the rolof and it’s effect on rear wheel riding performance. From what I see it’s interesting but not worth the cost, just not ready for prime time.

  30. Injured TableTennisPlayer May 7, 2021 @ 1:18 am

    Would you do one comparing enviolo with rohloff. Which is better.

  31. What’s the top speed & distance on this rig

  32. Timothy Alchemy Freeman May 7, 2021 @ 1:19 am

    Denham has ridden around the world in all kinds of VERY crazy, DANGEROUS, not bike friendly places for 10 years for hundreds of thousand miles and is still doing this with a rohlof hub and belt drive. he has never had to change it. his hub and drive are still very much in good shape and could last 10 years or more.This is just the beginning.

  33. Hi guys, I have an el bike with gats belt drive and the gears are soooooooo high is there any way to change it?

  34. Márcio Prado May 7, 2021 @ 1:21 am

    Why wear the helmet loose in this way?

  35. The Rohloff is german engineering at its best. Just watched a video about the factory. Love it 😍

  36. Richard Reiter May 7, 2021 @ 1:23 am

    Have had a rohloff for a couple of years and thinking about converting another one of my bikes.

  37. It needs to work with bafang.

  38. dejan rankovic May 7, 2021 @ 1:25 am

    Onjeziv.com

  39. Philippe Schyns May 7, 2021 @ 1:25 am

    Wow, what an informed review!

  40. Where in the USA are they sold. Texas? Houston?

  41. Jordan Kaluba May 7, 2021 @ 1:28 am

    12:28 Pretty clever idea to attache your camere to the kick stand
    PS Chris, cheer up man!

  42. Dennis Boivin May 7, 2021 @ 1:34 am

    Camera shots are super!

  43. Nice sound during shifting gears.

  44. Learnt best time to shift Alfine easily at top of cadence 👍

  45. Why are they riding girl bikes?

  46. fridgemagnett May 7, 2021 @ 1:37 am

    I wanted to hear about the electronic shifting. More detail please.

  47. blue wanderer May 7, 2021 @ 1:37 am

    I know this is 2yr old upload but I find it appropriate to ask here since you have touched the subject: does this mean that one could achieve higher top speed with rohloff igh comparing to 10t or 11t cassette providing the front gear is the same, same power same bike wheels etc?

  48. Andreas Seifert May 7, 2021 @ 1:40 am

    Blah Blah Blah…… few infos…. blah blah blah….

  49. darren ELLAM May 7, 2021 @ 1:40 am

    The Rohloff as a great range 526%. But do you know the highest gear you can get vs a NuVinci N380 or standard Cassette? I ask since you say Rohloff allows you to go faster. I tried the NuVinci N380 on 4th Gen Riese & Müller and the highest gear was not really high enough to reach top speeds.

  50. now try to fix that bike on your own…

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


*