Watseka XP Video Review – $650 Ebike from Amazon, Cheap and Heavy

Watseka XP Video Review – $650 Ebike from Amazon, Cheap and Heavy

https://electricbikereview.com/watseka/xp/ The Watseka XP Cargo and Sport are ultra affordable electric bike sold on Amazon for ~$650, requires 1.5+ hours for assembly along with some basic tools (it comes with a few unique wrenches and instructions to get you going), the kickstand is two-sided and very stable which helps with setup. Extremely heavy at ~78 lbs… the battery pack alone weighs ~23.5 lbs because it uses absorbed glass mat (AGM) lead acid technology vs. Lithium-ion, it won’t get as many charge cycles and is more sensitive to degradation if left uncharged but is only ~$160 to replace. Lots of useful accessories come standard with the Cargo and Sport models including steel fenders, a plastic chain guide, a steel cargo rack and LED lights, I like that the headlight is wired into the system… the rear requires two AA batteries. Extremely basic display panel just shows your battery level, full-grip twist throttle works alright but is easier to activate by by mistake, the bike I received had a deep frame scratch, a bent fork, missing hardware (to support the basket) and corroded AA batteries for the light. In this video review we assemble, test and compare the bike as well EBR was paid to perform this review #Sponsored We try to be honest, thorough, and fun! Comparison tools, shop directory, and forums at: ElectricBikeReview.com

Readers Comments (50)

  1. service@cal1.net January 4, 2021 @ 10:29 pm

    how fast can it go?

  2. Sorry guys but this is just a piece of c**p and a waste of money even at "only" $600

  3. I am the owner of this electric bike. Normal usage

  4. Once again a shitty design. Really high handlebars = recipe for UNSTABLE disaster. I sure as hell wouldn’t spend $650 on it.

  5. looks like the new 2019 rad runner ebike for 1299

  6. Clifford Widener January 4, 2021 @ 10:37 pm

    after seeing this review I’m really happy I bought the specialized Vato

  7. ignorance is always up front

  8. OrigamiBicycleCo January 4, 2021 @ 10:39 pm

    This is absolute garbage! 250W is low, the weight is terribly high, the brakes are bad, etc.

  9. They should lower the price for the bike. I would me mad if I need to deal with all those shit.

  10. WOW…smfh….what a heap of shit…If I spent $650 and that’s what I got,I’d be pissed…return that thing ASAP.

  11. A good electric bike cost at least 1300 dollars. That’s twice the price of this bike.

  12. Have you thought about review more cheap ebikes? For example, the ancheer folding 250w ebike?

  13. Michael Loughlin January 4, 2021 @ 10:45 pm

    Great video as usual guy’s. ….

  14. Thank you for sharing man

  15. I would have just shipped it back,,send me one thats not junk when I get it

  16. Has anyone had problems with lack of bearing Lubrication on any of these bike brands. I have a Monsterpro 26" on the way and am wondering whether to check them as I assemble it.

  17. Curious, have you reviewed Nakto? Very similar to this one but lithium ion battery. I’m guessing the quality of the bike itself would be the same. They do have a few "upgraded" models but really nothing over $1399. I personally like them for the price point / entry level rig.

  18. I have to say this was a very poor review, you set this bike up to look purposely poor …. you would think you be more unbias by not having all the junk and rattle in the basket… what were you thinking.

  19. It may not be perfect but the price is right!

    Good review.

  20. I personally wish that white guy shut the fuck up and just ride the bike!

  21. Can I have one you one bicycle

  22. 26:35 ‘This bracket’s really coming in handy’ (for all the parts that fall off this P.O.S.)

  23. thanx….now I know not to purchase this bike……

  24. A $650 death trap.

  25. oh lead acid batteries he said in minn four sealed l am surprised but yes that explains the weight l have one used similar but lights display in middle, rusty but charge lasted longer than expected quite a few shortish trips , then died suddenly after having nice power on gravel road, l suspected shaken apart someting but after charging a bit it came to life again, then fully charged dead again. so it stops power when it gets low bad to empty it compleatly l guess. bad for battery.or maybe not. using it , the assist is well first l felt it was powerful but only at low speed it seems to not assist at higher , but its ok mostly its needed uphill, first gear if steep , second if less, third even. one hint, the seat has a side bar in back middle so l could not tilt it much the way l like it to lessen sitting pain so l changed to a different seat. and put it way back setting too and tilted up and it feels higher and better in a way, but maybe also some disadvangtage like sometimes need to bea able to sit like when leading other bikes. is better to have level seat.also new seat has springs under and a hole softer old had hard plate. so tomorrow l will measure the batteries and maybe bypass the controller give motor direct juice or will it damage it . If it’s BRUSHED : the motor will only have 2 wires, + and – , hook these babies up to a battery directly and away she goes.. reverse the polarity and it goes in reverse.

    If it’s BrushLESS : You absolutely need a controller. The wires that exit the motor will be 3 x thicker wires and 5 more " Hall " position sensor wires.. 3 wires means you can’t just use 2 on + and -.. it requires electronicly controlled timing only possible with a controller.

    Both motors.. will spin faster if you add more voltage, ( More batteries in series ) .. Voltage = RPM

    If you hook up a Brushed motor direct to a battery , with a simple ON / Off switch, the motor will suck as many amps as possible to try and get up to cruising speed.. this will drain your battery FAST if you flip the switch when you are going slow, it will heat up the motor, wear the brushes faster, and all that fun stuff.. possible.. not advisable.
    vvvv Most. and i repeat.. " most " 36v brushless controllers will survive at 48v, this means simply adding a 12v in series ( you also need a 12v charger for the extra battery ) . Crystalyte controllers can handle this.. so do wilderness energy. https://www.google.com/search?q=bypass+electric+bike+controller&rlz=1C1GGRV_enIS751IS751&oq=electric+bike+bypass+&aqs=chrome.3.69i57j0l3.11670j0j8&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8 guessing it is brushed wires are not so thick and l think brushed is cheaper and its a cheap bike. https://www.google.com/search?q=brushless+motor&rlz=1C1GGRV_enIS751IS751&sxsrf=ALeKk02qtrG7qpB9LKVjyezueYCxIM48jw:1594418719270&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwiFjIrL2MPqAhVSSBUIHahDC_QQ_AUoAXoECBEQAw&biw=1152&bih=721 https://www.google.com/search?rlz=1C1GGRV_enIS751IS751&sxsrf=ALeKk02xA832iKekCFl41P1HStrg2tbnJg:1594418763720&source=univ&tbm=isch&q=brushed+electric+bicycle+motor&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwjk56Lg2MPqAhUlShUIHY2gDpwQsAR6BAgIEAE&biw=1152&bih=721
    1 Watseka Xp Cargo Electric Bicycle 26 6 Speed Adultyoung Free …2.shopfwc.com › 1-watseka-xp-cargo-electric-bicycle-26-…
    The first is that it uses a brushed motor. Comes with seven-speed Shimano gears along 1 watseka xp with front and rear mud guards, a water bottle holder, and …https://www.google.com/search?rlz=1C1GGRV_enIS751IS751&biw=1152&bih=721&sxsrf=ALeKk02t-EHdQWc1RgdmgHJE4a8KQZhlyg%3A1594419881512&ei=qeoIX6DuHsqP1fAPrO6FyA4&q=Watseka+XP+brushed&oq=Watseka+XP+brushed&gs_lcp=CgZwc3ktYWIQAzoECAAQRzoCCAA6BggAEBYQHjoFCCEQoAE6BwghEAoQoAE6BAghEBVQn0BY6F9gjWJoAXABeACAAXiIAcAHkgEDMi43mAEAoAEBqgEHZ3dzLXdpeg&sclient=psy-ab&ved=0ahUKEwjg5qP13MPqAhXKRxUIHSx3Aek4ChDh1QMIDA&uact=5 now relaise it could be the brushes too worn will try to beat on motor w small hammer and test again.

  26. "Hey man" counter towards the Black guy = 02 (so far) 0:33 4:16 bahahhahahahhahahahaha

  27. need to adjust the spring tention on the front breaks i guess you figured it out by now though , adjust from side to side a little ar a time one in one out ect….

  28. I found a similar one on Amazon. The price is lower only need $639.99usd and with a gift. Is this product the same? https://amzn.to/2Flq9ra

  29. You need high wheels and good brakes to push a bike up stairs, it’s an art form requiring both fine motor skills and just enough strength.

  30. originaLkomatoast January 4, 2021 @ 11:05 pm

    It looks a lot like the Nakto Camel.

  31. That Watseka is a horrible accident eagerly waiting to happen.

  32. Where is it made?

  33. Mike - Majid Khostavan January 4, 2021 @ 11:10 pm

    excellent demo. Thank you

  34. isn’t that a woman’s bike?

  35. Gods but I hated this bike. It was my ill-advised foray into electric bicycles. It was SO heavy, it wasn’t compatible with the child trailer or a kids bike seat. The battery took forever to charge, and got really hot while charging. I hated this bike SO much. I saw on your written review that you were able to sell it for $150, you were luckier than I was. I couldn’t sell it at all and ended up giving it away on freecycle.

  36. This Is the Latest Amazon Bike.
    TDL6166 Black Modern City Ebike Electric Bike 24V 6.6AH Battery motor-High Power Mouse over to zoom

    Click to enlargeImage not available Photos not available for this var<style type="text/css">.vi-hide-mImgThr {display: none;}</style><img id="icImg" class="img img500" itemprop="image" src="https://i.ebayimg.com/images/g/p6UAAOSwFyhaFBHC/s-l500.jpg" style="" clk="" alt="TDL6166-Black-Modern-City-Ebike-Electric-Bike-24V-6-6AH-Battery

  37. ideotssss

  38. Got a lol your riding a sketchy bike look:)

  39. ive seen tons of these in China, considered the low class transport.

  40. 2 idiots. One bike.

  41. John Vansteenkiste January 4, 2021 @ 11:16 pm

    I have a simular bike like this 1, a "wayscral" for 3 years now, nothing broke so far, the only adjustment I did was sticking a piece of foam on the surface where the bottom of the battery makes contact when you put it in the bike. This was for solving the backlash of the battery, it shakes up & down without the foam http://www.wayscral.com/nl/notre-gamme/11-elektrische-fiets-wayscral-basy315.html

  42. Thanks man I ordered this bike and i was nervous that it might not have throttle

  43. I wouldn’t let these guys touch my bike.

  44. Where can i get a spare battery from ?

  45. In this if you add free energy play wheel. which is available in India Gujarth. It will give more mileage

  46. you can measure top speed with GPS on your phone

  47. Pablos Haciendos January 4, 2021 @ 11:24 pm

    My God court….you guys bought rattling lemon

  48. TRASH.

  49. You have a really nice bike stand but you can’t even put on a V brake correctly?

  50. Nakto 26" 250W Cargo-Electric Bicycle 6 speed eBike 36V10A Lithium battery-White
    Nakto ebike is a best choose!! best price with high quality!
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Nakto-26-250W-Cargo-Electric-Bicycle-6-speed-eBike-36V10A-Lithium-battery-White-/253065201891?epid=849252386&hash=item3aebdc88e3:g:XFQAAOSwekhZ5BkW

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


*